4-Hers on 4-H: Hannah Gillis

Hannah Gillis and Molly at the Thunder Over & Under 4-H Club demonstration, Carver MA, October 2009

I like 4-H because of many reasons. One reason is because it gives me the ability to train my dog, and then to see her progress and see how well she will do. Another reason is because I have made a lot of new friends. 4-H has helped me become more confident.

I have made many memories in 4-H, like the time that I first walked into the first class. My dog Molly broke free from the leash and ran into the room to play with all the dogs and then Coady tried to help me catch her. After we caught her we did some obedience and showmanship and Molly seemed to like it. That is why I stuck with 4-H.

My favorite memory was when we had the Cave Canem dog show. Even though it was pouring rain, Molly and I had a great time! That was the show where we got our first 1st place ribbon. I was so proud of Molly, and I felt like all of our hard work had paid off. I look forward to making many more friends and memories in 4-H.

by Hannah Gillis, Cave Canem 4-H Club, Kingston MA. Hannah is in her second year of 4-H.
All rights reserved; contact the author via the blog editor.

This entry was posted in Member Activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment